navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

You have to have a valid membership to attend this event

You have to have a valid membership to attend this event


August 23, 2017
The Arena Football League announced today that Baltimore Brigade QB Shane Carden has been named 2017 AFL Rookie of the Year. The former East Carolina Pirate averaged 243.8 passing yards per game, second best in the league, threw 63 touchdowns and led the Brigade to a playoff berth in their inaugural season. Carden becomes just the third quarterback to win the award. 

“Shane displayed outstanding playmaking ability and toughness over the course of the season,” Brigade Head Coach Omarr Smith said. “It was an absolute honor to coach him this year. Shane is a young star with a very bright future.”

Carden became the first rookie since 2011 to throw for 3,000 yards and his 3,169 passing yards rank 16 th  all-time among first-year players. The Houston, Texas native threw for 357 yards against the Tampa Bay Storm in Week 5 and 359 yards in Week 11 against Cleveland, becoming the eighth rookie in AFL history to throw for 350+ yards in multiple games.  

During his time at East Carolina University, Carden set the school record for career passing yards and passing touchdowns. In 2013, he was named the Conference USA MVP and in 2014, his senior season, he was named the American Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Year.